I wasn’t eating anything (innocent face)

Standard

I love brownies. They are my favorite dessert, I just love what you can do with them and they are so yummy (or as Rachel Ray would say…YUMM-O) I was looking around and I got this great idea that grew. I took fudgey brownies and put a chocolate peanut butter mixture on top. To Die For! That is what I decided to call them. Crazy but true.

Step: Complete!
Step 2: This looked so good I tasted it…BITTER! Reminder…add sugar before tasting next time.
Step 4: Much better…sugar has been added and it tastes divine
Now for the sauce:
And for the finished product…drum roll please?!
Be honest, doesn’t this look like a deepdish pizza, brownie form?
Thanks to cooks.com I found an amazing fudgey brownie with no dairy involved and very easy directions:
3/4 cup cocoa
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 cup oil
1. Mix together. Add 1/2 cup boiling water and mix until thickened.
2 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/3 cup oil
2. Mix with the liquid ingredients
1 1/3 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
3. Mix until smooth. (This is where I did a bit of my own thing) the directions say to put in a 9×13 pan but I put mine into a 9×9 pan with wax paper up the sides. Since the pans sides are quite high the brownie had room to move up.
4. Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes (I put it in for 47 minutes which seemed to do the trick).
The topping I made myself with a bit of experimentation:
2 heaping Tablespoons chunky peanut butter
heat this on medium heat until warm and add…
1 Tablespoon butter
melt butter and add
2 1/2 heaping Tablespoons confectioners sugar
and a handful of chocolate chips
The colour should be quite dark. Once your brownie is out of the oven put the peanut butter chocolate topping on. If you have enough restraint to wait until it is cool to eat it, good for you. I am not capable of doing that.  You’ll need to make more topping if you use a bigger pan, it just barely fit on this one.
P.S. It tastes best warm but the taste is still amazing once it is cool.
                    
4 responses »

Leave a Reply

