Monkey Bread

Standard

Also known as a tea ring, I think monkey bread sounds more fun. I often make it after supper for a dessert but I would like to try making it the night before and baking it in the morning.

part one
3 tablespoons, 1/2 teaspoon butter
1/3 cup brown sugar

Prepare a round cake pan by inverting a glass custard cup in the center. Melt the butter and pour into the prepared pan. Add brown sugar and spread around evenly. Set aside.

part two
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
3 tablespoons butter

Mix sugar and cinnamon. Set aside. Melt the margarine. Set aside.

part three
2 cups sifted flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup hardened butter or shortening
~1 cup milk

preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt together in a bowl. Cut in the hardened butter or shortening. Add enough milk to make a dough that forms into a ball-a fork works best. Flour a free counter space and knead ten times. cut or tear pieces and roll each piece into a ball. Dip each piece into the butter from part two then into the cinnamon and sugar mixture from part two. Put the pieces around the inverted custard cup in the middle. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until goldent brown. Put a plate over top of the cake pan and flip.

<—Final product. Delish.

Note: With the milk I use half soy milk and half water, if I need more liquid I add more water.
~The dough should be sort of like biscuit dough.
~With the butter I like using softened, it seems to blend much better.
~I sometimes add a little bit of cinnamon to the dough.

Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Monkey bread is so delicious! Thanks for stopping by my blog and recommending mixingbowl.com to me! I just entered the Super Bowl category. 🙂

Leave a Reply

