Chunky Macaroons

Standard

  I wanted to eat something with chocolate in it but I wasn’t sure what so, like any good baker, I went to the books…cookbooks that is. I decided I wanted to make haystacks but I didn’t have all of the ingredients. I went through two cookbooks, on my third one I was ready to give up when the name Chocolate Chip Macaroons caught my eye. If you noticed the difference in names (from the title to this post) you might be wondering why. That would be because I changed up the recipe quite a bit.

2 egg whites
1/2 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon cocoa
2 tablespoons flour

1 cup coconut
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
1/2 cup white chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

    Whip egg whites until frothy and add sugar. Beat until stiff and add cocoa. Beat until combined and fold in flour. Beat until combined. Fold in coconut, chocolate chips, and walnuts. The mixture should become very chunky (hint the new name). Drop in mounds onto a greased cookie sheet and Bake at 375 degrees F. for around 12 minutes. My macaroons were bigger so they went in for about 3 minutes extra.

                 the picture is a little blurry but they
should be a
bit shiny when they come out with a
soft inside! (like a meringue)

Leave a comment