Mug Cake II

Standard
I was about to start making a couple chocolate molten cakes when I realized I didn’t have any ramekins. Without ramekins I found it rather hard to create a perfect looking chocolate molten cake. I felt the need to have something with chocolate so I went through my list of recipes and found the perfect thing. A Mug Cake. A quick and yummy solution. I’ve made it once before but I don’t think it turned out quite as well as it did this time.
Last time I made it…

This time I made it!

I didn’t do the full recipe but it seemed to turn out a little better than the last time. Here is the modified version.

2 Tablespoons flour

1/8 teaspoon baking powder
2 Tablespoons sugar
1 Tablespoon cocoa
1. In mug mix well and add:
1 large egg
1 1/2 Tablespoons rice milk*
1 1/2 Tablespoons oil
2. Pour into 2 coffee mugs. Mix well, microwave for 1 1/2 minutes. Sprinkle with powdered sugar or chocolate chips and enjoy!
*The original recipe calls for milk but of course I substituted to make it dairy and soy free.
In the original recipe it calls for 1 small egg for the full recipe but I found 1 large egg for half a recipe made it more moist.

Enjoy.

2 responses »

  1. Hi. I saw your picture of whoopie pies on your Bake at 350 comment. I just thought it was funny because I am making them for the first time tonight. I like your blog. I need to get me some ramekins too! Your cake looks yummy. I am in the mood for chocolate tonight, hence the baking of whoopie pies.

  2. I've been eyeing up ramekins for the last while, there are a few recipes out there that you need them for, but at the same time, they seem like another kitchen gadget that won't be used often and will collect dust. That's a really good idea to use coffee mugs instead of ramekins.http://thefunkykitchen.com

Leave a Reply

